Linn Sondek LP12 service

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here. I have just joined. Put this in my hello but it was suggested I post it here. I'm wanting to upgrade an old system so I can stream music, play radio, etc. and possibly put the TV through it. I currently have a Linn Sondek LP12 turntable, Redgum rgi120 (with Jaycar kit phono amp) and some Quad 77-11L speakers. I thought I should start with getting the turntable serviced as it has never been done. Can anyone suggest someone to work on the turntable in Melbourne who is honest, good and  reliable? I don't want to spend a fortune upgrading parts. I have spent a lot of money on high end stuff in the past that kept failing. I just want a system that sounds good. Would like to minimise the amount of gear but need a turntable for all of that vinyl I have. Also, wondering if changing the amp to something like the new Cambridge CXA61 when it arrives in Australia may be a good move. A couple have mentioned Andrew Cole.

Thanks

Glenda

• Like 1

13 minutes ago, Tasebass said:

This member should be able to point you in the right direction...

...and welcome aboard...:thumb:

Good luck 

Tase.

Glenda had already posted her enquiry under "Newbies", Tase.  :)

@sing38, Andrew Coles is your man, for LP12 servicing.

Andy

Yes. I guess I am also concerned about keeping gear that is also expensive to upkeep. Maybe I should get a more pedestrian turntable. Love the idea of the Yamaha music cast where it could live in another room but maybe the drop in quality would be too much.

2 hours ago, sing38 said:

Yes. I guess I am also concerned about keeping gear that is also expensive to upkeep.

Glenda, an LP12 is not "expensive to upkeep"!

2 hours ago, sing38 said:

Maybe I should get a more pedestrian turntable.

Sure, you could get - say - a Rega.  :lol:  But IMO, your SQ would suffer.  :)

Andy

• Like 1

10 hours ago, sing38 said: