introducing Greg Ball (aka SKA)

SKA

Hi All,

Since I've been a member for over two years it's probably time to introduce myself. :rolleyes: I'm a veteran audio designer who has been designing commercial audio products since the early '70's.

Green out of Uni (B.Sc. Physics/App Maths) and Lecturing Basic Electronics at a Brisbane Technical college, I started as a consultant to MacIntosh Electronics in Brisbane designing the circuitry for their broadcast mixers which were in ABC studios throught Australasia. I started Audio Design producing a range of PA amplifiers, active crossovers, graphic equalisers and mixing desks for the pub, club and theatre market throughout Australia. Our equipment was used in many of the top discos throught Australia and our Disco Mixer was the preferred choice of DJs even in competitors' systems.

Since then I have worked as a Maintenance Electronics Engineer on oil rigs from Derby to Bass Strait, as Supervising Engineer for the installation of PA, MATV and security in the Amir's palace in Doha, QATAR, and then as a consultant designer to Madrigal ( makers of Mark Levinson) in CT, USA.

I then started Eidetic Audio Research on my return and produced the standout Eidetic GB1 and 2 pre and power amp combination which was very well received throughout Australia and exported some to Singapore. These were well reviewed in Australian Hi Fi, and I gave a guest lectures to the MAC ad Qld chapter of the IREE Audio Group.

The designs were based on my research article " Distorting Power Supplies" published in Wireless World (Dec 1990).