Sansui AU-2900 Photo and Tape too loud (blew the fuse)

I have a Sansui AU-2900 connected to JVC KD-V100 (cassette deck) and JVC L-F210B (record player).  The Aux is often connected to iPad headphone output.  The Aux levels are fine.  But the Phono and Tape monitor are way  too loud... even at 0 volume.  Is this a problem with the Amp and how it's handling the inputs or is it the signal output from tape deck and record player?  What should I measure to check? voltage?  

I need to buy a replacement fuse.  Where should I look? local store in Canada? Online?

I'm new to these so please feel free to share troubleshooting advice.

The reference output level for the Ipad is approx. 1 volt. This level will overload the Aux input of the Sansui which has a sensitivity of 130 mV. A 12 dB attenuator pad fitted to a connecting cable from the Ipad to the amplifier would fix this problem*. The cassette deck should be  disconnected from the amplifier to verify if the turntable is working correctly. If the sensitivity is now as it should be then the amplifier is O.K.  I would then advise re-connecting the cassette deck and making sure that one set of leads go from the amplifier's  'Tape Play' sockets to the 'Line O/P' sockets on the cassette deck and the other set of leads go from the amplifier's 'Rec Out'  sockets to the 'Line In' sockets on the cassette deck.

* You could also adjust the gain of the Ipad using the menu.

• Like 1
  • Love 1

7 hours ago, sleekspeed22 said:

I have a Sansui AU-2900 connected to JVC KD-V100 (cassette deck) and JVC L-F210B (record player).  The Aux is often connected to iPad headphone output.  The Aux levels are fine.  But the Phono and Tape monitor are way  too loud... even at 0 volume.  Is this a problem with the Amp and how it's handling the inputs or is it the signal output from tape deck and record player?  What should I measure to check? voltage?  

I need to buy a replacement fuse.  Where should I look? local store in Canada? Online?