Tell me about 300B tubes.

Hey Peoples, 

I'm pretty new to the tube world, my first step was picking up a Vincent SV-236 MKII hybrid which i'm enamored with. This has given me a little bit of an understanding surrounding 12AX7's, but beyond that i'm reasonably clueless. 

I just came across a Yaqin MS-300C at a ridiculously good price so now i need to get my head around some new info to start my tube rolling journey. 

Basic specs of the amp are as follows: Tube: 300B x 2 (Output Tubes) 6N8P x 2 (Drivers and Cathode followers) 12AT7 x 2 (Voltage amplifiers) 5Z3P x l (Rectifier) Maximum Output: 9.5W x2 (8ohm) Output Jacks: Two channels with two groups of gold plated jacks Headphone jack on the front panel Speaker Output: Impedance: 4ohm and 8ohm Headphone Output: Impedance: 32ohm (Recommended) Input Jacks: Four groups of gold plated isolated RCA jacks Input Sensitivity: 0.3V Distortion of Harmonic Wave: <=<=1% (at 4W) Frequency Response: 5Hz ~ 35KHz (-2dB) Signal-to-Noise Ratio: >89dB (A weight) Remote Controller: Infrared control and powered by 2 AAA batteries Supply Voltage: AC 115V 60Hz Power Consumption: 200W

I would assume that getting some quality 300B's and maybe a new rectifier would be the best place to start, but beyond that i'm gonna get pretty lost pretty quick. 300B's seem to be mostly manufactured by different companies compared to the 12ax7s i have experience with. Psvane and Shuguang which are seemingly replicas (of WE stuff) seem to be pretty easily available, am i crazy starting here or should i be looking at something else.  

Thanks in advance. 

-WheelZ

IME the differences between the 300Bs are not so much about quality (unless plain faulty) but more about personal preferences and how they react with the amp circuit. Obviously some are way more expensive over others but that doesn’t necessarily mean you will prefer them over others. I’d suggest getting some different tubes secondhand and see it for yourself if you prefer one over another.