Projector And Screen Advice For A Complete Newbie

Hi all.

When I return to my home in Sydney early next year I'm giving serious thought to installing a projector and screen in my HT room. I have NEVER owned a projector and have literally no experience with them other than seeing a few around hifi stores and other stores like Harvey Norman and Videopro.

I THINK my seating distance to my wall where my existing panel is going to be mounted would be around 3.9 metres. Ideally, something along the lines of a 100-120inch would be nice. I've checked the viewing distance calculations and 120inch screen suggests a viewing distance of 4.08 metres.. close enough. If the viewing distance is less (it could be more like 3.5-3.7m) I might have to opt for 100inch.

The big question I have is what is the projector that offers the best bang for buck picture quality at around the $3.5k mark ? I hear good things about JVC and Panasonic... but there are SOO many models out there it's crazy. What I DO want is a projector that offers the best, brightest whites I can get.. to me many of the projector setups I see look really washed out.. the whites are greyish and the blacks are fairly murky. I'd really like something that gets close to the pristine whites of a good LCD panel like my existing Sony and Samsung LCD sets. 3D is essential too. Just as importantly, I can't handle "flicker" in a picture at all.. my eyes are very sensitive even to plasma flicker ( I can spot a Pana ST/VT plasma from thirty panels in a store just by the flicker). Sometimes when I go to the cinema I can detect flicker too. So what projector should I be looking for ?

In terms of screen, I would assume a screen is just standard stuff and the quality in the mid-range price bracket is much of a muchness ?

Lastly, my receiver only has a single HDMI output. Can I run a single HDMI out from my receiver, through a switcher and then to the LCD and projector ? Would there be any degredation in quality at all ?

Cheers