Audio Epiphanies.

G'day all, although I've been messing around with audio and allied subjects for many years now, yet it seems that I never stop learning and some of that 'learning' might be described as 'epiphanies'. 

Some of them have caused me to challenge and even change long held beliefs and such, and sometimes that in itself can be confronting, as it were! 

I've had a few quite recently such as the abandoning my formerly beloved Shure M97xE cartridges mostly because I finally admitted that while it is a good cartridge, others in the same price range are considerably better!  It took me a l-o-n-g time to finally admit that, and even in my DIY work some things are somewhat intangible and difficult to explain rationally, if at all! 

Good design is always preferred but sometimes the ears are indeed the best way to evaluate sound quality.  They certainly have been epiphanies for me.  Have others had any?  Regards, Felix.   

Edited by catman
  • Like 1

Yes I have at the A/V and Hi Fi show in Melbourne, I realised that the sound a system makes is only as good as the recording.

And a 80 thousand dollar system or 20 thousand dollar speakers do not make you in a rush to upgrade if at all,

• Like 1

Guest Hensa

Yes I have at the A/V and Hi Fi show in Melbourne, I realised that the sound a system makes is only as good as the recording.

And a 80 thousand dollar system or 20 thousand dollar speakers do not make you in a rush to upgrade if at all,

And only as good as the room it plays in....