Custom speakers, blown tweeters and a few questions..

Hi,

I've recently been given a couple of speakers which are in need of repair.  I'm a bit of a novice but here's what I know so far:

Maker: Unknown (looks custom)

Tweeter 1: Magnavox - 15 Ohm, "XJ3"

Tweeter 2: Marantz (I think, based on model number), 8 ohm, "ST-10G1A", "Japan"

Mid-range: Marantz (I think, based on model number), 8 ohm, "DS - 54", "Japan", "25W"

2 Subwoofers: Etone, "2876", can't find ohm markings anywhere
Crossover: 8 ohm
Dimensions (h/w/d): 1000 x 415 x 275
Weight: 35kg / speaker
Cabinet: 17mm chipboard, 8-10 mm felt throughout entire inside of cabinet, minimal bracing (see attachment)

The tweeters are wired in parallel, as are the subwoofers.
The tweeters in both speakers are blown.  I get no sound out of them and all 4 of them record a 0.L reading on my multimeter.

Here are my questions:

1. Could these have been built by Peterson Speaker Laboratories or a company of the like or do they look like home built speakers?
2. Any idea how old are these speakers likely to be?
3. If they're old, should I replace the tweeters with the same kind to maintain its integrity as a vintage speaker or just go new?
4. The first tweeter shows 15 ohms.  Is that right? I've never seen 15 before.
5. If the tweeters are 15 ohms and 8 ohms, can the 5.21 ohms circuit be fed into the crossover safely?  I'm guessing so but I wanted to be sure.

Thanks in advance.

Dan.

The second last image is taken from the mid-range opening.  It's hard to see but it shows the two subs and a brace in between.
The last image is of one of the subwoofers.

post-148854-0-56676100-1413714910_thumb.

post-148854-0-58315500-1413714928_thumb.

post-148854-0-39789900-1413714956_thumb.

post-148854-0-61612100-1413715032_thumb.

post-148854-0-38787700-1413715071_thumb.

post-148854-0-71747900-1413715232_thumb.

post-148854-0-73761900-1413715306_thumb.

Edited by dansab