Set and Forget? Graham, SME, Kuzma

Guest The Fresh Prince

Guest The Fresh Prince

Hi,

I have totally splurged out on an SME 20/12 table.

I'm reviewing my arm options and am considering the Phantom 2 Supreme 12 inch, SME V12 or, the Kuzma 4 Point.

I already have an SME V and appreciate the quality of the engineering and finish. I have no experience with Graham or Kuzma. My impression, as an aside, is that Graham don't seem entirely enamoured by 12 inch and I don't see many people pushing the 12 inch version of their arm- any comments?

I am not looking for opinions on the sound of the arms, but more an opinion on which is more user friendly.

I don't like fiddling, but do want to set it up correctly and, for it to stay that way.

Reliability, consistency between consecutive products (ie manufacturing tolerance being tight between 2 products of the same type), and customer service are also important.

I'm keen on trying one of the middle range Lyra carts with this set up. I won't be changing carts frequently.

Many thanks.

Ted

The 4 point is built like a Panzer tank. I've used a Kuzma Stogi Reference for years and it's needed no adjustment at all, A 4 Point has the same engineering quality. If you're looking for a 12 inch arm to reduce inner groove distortion have a listen to a Thales Simplicity, at a similar price point, a much smaller footprint to the 4 point and I preferred it over the 4 point. No experience with Graham arms so no opinion.

• Like 1

I, like you have an SME-V (Lyra Kleos & previously Helikon) and can say that if you are not swapping out cartridges there would be no need to correct the settings on just about any arm. The SME quality is well known and their service department legendary (much like Quad) in that any arm can be serviced. Downside is that it is in UK. Kuzma 4Point gets great reviews and comments on build quality and Warrick is in Vic.