Hi from Sydney City

Hi All, 

Appreciate this forum as I get back in to Hi-Fi after a decade with no appropriate listening space. 
I’m a musician and grew up tinkering with hifi, then bought my first decent hifi (Harmon-kardon + paradigm) in the 90’s from Len Wallis, amassed a huge collection of CD’s and then lived an itinerant lifestyle without any real dedicated HiFi listening space, but always listening on studio monitors (dynaudio/Genelec/JBL) in my workspace. 

Now I have the space at home I’ve set up a hifi again with Rotel pre/power and rega TT and bluesound node/SB/SW, and I’m coming to terms with how to consume music like a modern man.. NAS, streaming.. mqa.. but find myself wanting that satisfaction I got back when I owned 10CDs total, listened to them thousands of times intently and poured over the liner notes. 

I listen to many genres, especially modern and classic jazz, post rock, symphonic music and soul R&B music.

While I do love the gear, I mostly look forward to reading discussions on HOW people access music and what formats give them greatest joy from music.  

Peter

ps my album recommendation this week is Aaron Parks “little big 2, dreams of a mechanical man”

Check it out!

• Like 1

Hi Pete,

Welcome to StereoNET. Thanks for the intro 😀 An album recommendation in your first post is awesome - for some of us it really is all about the music.

I grew up on the North Shore of Sydney and bought my first system (probably with my first few pay checks) from Tony at Milverson Sound in Lindfield ... Marantz CD, ME Pre & Power with JBL's - man I was so happy. Some years later, as I had foolishly sold my ME's and JBL's, I bought a new amp again from Tony but he was now at Len Wallis - probably just after they had moved to their current location. That system stayed the same for probably 25 years, I enjoyed it immensely and often.