Connecting a powered Sub to Musical Fidelity M8Xi

Hi everyone, 

As you can tell, still bit of an audio noob here. I'm currently upgrading to my 'endgame' setup which may be entry level to some, but to me is quite up there. Anyways I digress.

I'm currently upgrading to a pair of JBL HDI3800 as my speakers and pairing it up with the Musical Fidelity M8Xi. 

I've heard criticism that the JBL 3800 have a lack of lower bass extension, so I figure I may as well add a subwoofer to this setup.

My main question is, since the M8Xi has such unique engineering with the dual mono block amps, etc. I've read in a what-hi-fi review that it's dangerous to simply connect any sort of powered device (powered sub, speakers, etc) since it may short circuit the sub. I'm just wondering will it be possible to plug in a powered sub to this set-up at all? 

Thanks for all the help!

ps: this is the review I mentioned https://www.whathifi.com/au/reviews/musical-fidelity-m8xi

1 hour ago, Firaaero said:

I'm currently upgrading to a pair of JBL HDI3800 as my speakers and pairing it up with the Musical Fidelity M8Xi. 

I've heard criticism that the JBL 3800 have a lack of lower bass extension, so I figure I may as well add a subwoofer to this setup.

Just about any spkr can be improved, SQ-wise, by adding a sub - or better, a pair!  Not just your JBLs.  :)

Reading a review about the MF M8Xi, as each channel is bridged, I would suggest:

1.  you really need to ask MF whether subs can be connected to the terminals which the main spkrs connect to.

and

2.  you need to be careful that the JBL HD13800s don't drop to a low impedance.  (Bridged amps do not like low-impedance spkrs.)

Note:  I was unable to find out if the M8Xi has 'pre-out' sockets.  If it does ... then you would connect your powered sub(s) to these, rather than the spkr terminals.  This is the better connection method, anyway, IMO.

Andy

• Like 2

4 minutes ago, andyr said: