The hifi myth?

So I'm fairly new to the hifi scene.

Tried a few amps (a/b and d) from $600-$3000

Few speakers from $200-$2500

DACs from the inbuilt ones in integrateds to stand alone ones up to $1000.

Different cables from generic to several hundred dollars.

...I'm not sure I could really hear the difference. 

Maybe I'm only in the lo-fi to mid-fi category but I just dropped 3.6k on new speaker (still waiting for them) and was thinking of dropping 4-5k on a new integrated and 1-2k on a new turntable but I'm second guessing everything now.

I know I need to audition more (kinda been hard the last 2 years) but I really wonder from a scientific point of view how there can be so much difference between components which are engineered to do the same thing... in particular amp (pre, power and integrated) which are just meant to amplify a signal.

How can there be such a thing as instrument separation, especially, when the music is already down mixed?

If transparency is what we aim for how can things sound so different.

I'm questioning everything and wondering if anyone has been in a similar situation and where did you end up?

Thanks guys!

• Like 1

Bcdesign, there's a lot of BS in the Hi-Fi world.  Some claim to have 'golden ears' and can hear the difference between cables.  I can't.  But that doesn't mean to say they're wrong.  Maybe they have better hearing than me.  Or more likely, they have trained hearing.  I have found that the more I listen to something, the more detail I can pick up.  The corollary to that is the tonal quality and musical detail has to be there in the first place.  So one could argue that better designed and engineered equipment (not necessarily more expensive) should sound better if our hearing is suitably trained.

The more you listen to audio gear, the more you can pick the good from the bad.

• Like 1