Cart for new Rega P3. Ortofon 2M Black?

Hi all. Need a cart for my P3 and was thinking the Blackie. Any other suggestions for around or under $1k (MM only at this stage). I need something warmish to neutral with high output - 4.5mV+. Arm is standard P3 flavour (RB330). Phono pre will be a Leben RS-30EQ for the time being. Amp - Plinius 9200, Speakers Harbeth SHL5P XD. Thoughts?

Cheers

blakey72

The Black is not warm it is very detailed, neutral and dynamic. I found my Stanton 881s much warmer but a pain to set and difficult to find a good one these days. 
The Nagaoka could be worth a look. There is an Australian dealer. 

Edited by PKay
  • Like 2

1 minute ago, PKay said:

The Black is not warm it is very detailed, neutral and dynamic. I found my Stanton 881s much warmer but a pain to set and difficult to find a good one these days. 

Yeah Neutral is ok for me, difficult to set up might be a deal breaker. I'm new to setting up carts (well done about 5). I'm thinking the Black would sound something like my old AT150MLX. Need a new Stylus for it, impossible to get :/ 

Just now, blakey72 said:

Yeah Neutral is ok for me, difficult to set up might be a deal breaker. I'm new to setting up carts (well done about 5). I'm thinking the Black would sound something like my old AT150MLX. Need a new Stylus for it, impossible to get :/ 

Give @cafe lattea call he may be able to retip it for you. 

• Like 2

1 minute ago, PKay said:

Give @cafe lattea call he may be able to retip it for you. 

Nah already worked a few things out with him. I think the suspension was dead or something. He 'grafted' it (cantilever and tip) onto a Grado Blue which broke the other night, caught a cleaning cloth on it somehow. That one will likely get fixed when I get around to it but it's going on another deck ;) 

2m black would be nice with the rega and leben.