What should I buy for Home Theater System

Hi!

I am a newbie in Home Theater System. My amp has broken down a couple of months ago. Followed by my pioneer DVD player with HD recorder ( HD recording is still functioning well ). I thought of buying Denon AVR1910 or Onkyo TX 607.

I went to a couple of shops in Adelphi and different people give different opinions. I am having Sound Dynamics (Centre RTS-C2B-1 and 2 rears) and also 2 front book shelves Dynaudio Audience 50.

Could someone recommend the following so that I can have a decent home-theater system (value for money) together with my existing speakers.......I use it for movie more than music:

What AV receivers should I buy?

What DVD player should I buy? Blue-ray player or just DVD player?

Sub-woofers should I buy? I was being recommended for CHT-8Q

Thought of engaging someone to calibrate the system rather using MACC? Any recommendation and what will be the price?

Thanks in advance.

I forgot to mention the budget for all the above should be within the range S$1500 - S$2000.

• 3 weeks later...

If your amp is broken, there is no second question that you will need one. I doubt that any DVD player will be able to drive your speakers without the amp. The amps you have mentioned are good capable ones. though most forumers mention that Denon is better for music and Onkyos are good for HT stuff. But it is important for you to see which matches well with your speakers. I dont own any of those brands so it is going to be difficult to recommend which one you should buy. You possible might have to do some auditions at the shops with your speakers to see what suits you.

Your budget could be a little tight for a AVR, sub and DVD player. I would say go for AVR and DVD player first and then save a liitle more for the sub.

Welcome to XP bro

Will try and help / 'kaypoh' - jmae I have no idea what you are trying to say...

Lets take your total - 2000

You want a subwoofer - CHT8 is decent and will cost < 800.