IGNORED

Onkyo Home theatre in a box

Guest lvsaint

Guest lvsaint

Hi, i am newbie in this home theatre stuff and dont really need a very high end setup and also on a tight budget. I went researching on the internet and it seems that Onkyo has some nice packages. The

Onkyo HT-S755DVC seems good as it has everything but i cant seem to find the price in singapore dollars and where do i go to demo the speakers. If yu got any other home theatre in a box type of packages pls do suggest here. Thank you........

Instead of searching on the internet, why not do your physical searching locally then verify their performance on the internet? Then for sure you won't have problem trying to look for it in town.

Onkyo stuff can try Tat Chuan in Adelphi.

Hi lvsaint!

Like you, I'm a newbie too (having been away for a long time from audio stuff). I was also contemplating the HT in a Box type, but finally settled on a slightly more expensive package from KEC. The Take 5.2 is very good, and would probably meet the needs of newbies like us for a good many years before the upgrade bug catches us. For such a package (Marantz SR4200 + Take 5.2, expect to pay about S$2.1K).

Check out this place: www.kec-sound.com - Clarence is very patient and demoed many stuff for me whilst I was there. Great customer support for newbies like us.

Take 5.2 reviews:

http://www.guidetohometheater.com/printarchives.cgi?40

Guest lvsaint

oh okay, thats a bit off budget and it does not come with a dvd player too. I was looking to wrap everything up under 1500 including dvd player.

VBlaster,

What is KEC's comment abt take5? Yesterday I was there for demo but the guy was too busy servicing someone for a long long time. I overheard he was like saying take5 not gd whereas another set cost 300 more is much better becos of.... the material of the speaker. The guy went for the demo seem to agree after the audit. Did he recommended something else to you?

Guest duckling

VBlaster,