IGNORED

Advise on Existing Equipment

Hi

I have an existing Yamaha DSP-A492 AV amp, 29" Toshiba TV, 1 Toshiba VCD player and a pair of old Tannoy front speakers (Octogon shape).

Initial thoughts is to get a Marantz SR4200 amp to replace the Yamaha and also buy a new Shinco DVD-2110 player as my budget was $600.

However, after reconsideration, I would keep the Yamaha AV amp and maybe spend half of my budget on a decent DVD player.

My questions are : -

1. How can I fully maximised the potential of my Yamaha AV amp to watch a 5.1 DVD? Do I have to buy any add-on?

2. Is the Shinco DVD good? Or should I pump in any few bucks to get a better model?

3. Should I get a centre speaker for my existing amp?

4. According to the staff at KEC, he said that my Tannoy is without bass. Does buying a pair of good cable helps to improve on the sound quality?

I am new in AV so do not understand much of AV jargons. Your advise would greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Regards

I'll gear the answers towards economical since u have budget contraints.

1) Connect a good quality RCA cable (any functional yellow video cable)from the DVDP digital out to the amps digital in. That will send the 5.1 sound to the amp.

But u only have 2 front spkrs, so u won't enjoy 5.1 surround. To really enjoy 5.1 surround from DVDs, u need to be surround by 5 speakers and a subwoofer(.1).

2) I'll be a bit suspect on shinco lower end models, but the entry model toshiba or pioneer is actually pretty good. My Shinco 8700 can't play "The best of Kitaro" R1.

3)U should get a pair of surrounds rather than a centre speaker. There a world of difference in having a pair of surrounds than a crummy ctr spkr.

4)Buying a pair of good cables does not give ur system a bass boost. It will improve sound quality for mid-range and treble. But if ur speaker cannot produce bass at all, no good cables can make that bass magically appear. Logical rite? To get reasonable bass, get a subwoofer instead.

To give u my advise,