IGNORED

Audio Theories.

Guest nu-form

Guest nu-form

A very good evening to all the audio experts out there, I'm rather new to this so perhaps someone can explain to me this few situations so I can learn soemthing from it?

Scenario One:

My friend wants a budget Hifi set so he decides to "loan" my Marantz PM6010OSE and goes down to Adelphi to get a pair of new bookcase speakers and CDP.

Using the Marantz as the base AMP for auditioning, we decided to go with the NAD C521 CDP and Wharfedale Diamond 8.1s.

When we played a music CD, it sounded bright and lacked bass and "punch". The music CD used was a Heavy Metal CD anyway.

Then under his recommendation, we replaced the Wharfedales with the Mission M71 and lo and behold! It sounded just right for him with enough power to satisfy his aureal senses.

Then we tried using the EVO One and it sounded just like the Wharfdales again.

What's the underlying lesson to be learnt from this experience? :)

Scenario Duex :

We bought 4M of this pair of thick white-colored cables which had a pair of green and purple wires within it which was recommended interconnects for my friend's setup.

I bought some myself to test out if it would work on my setup itself. (NAD C320, NAD C520, Aegis One).

When I set everyting up for him that day using these cables and played back some CDs, everything was well-defined with enough bassy punch.

Now, when I took these pair of similar cables back home and tried it out on my setup....everything became SO BRIGHT! I mean, the vocals, instruments became very apparent and my setup lost all the punch that came with my other pair of cables.

What gives here? Does a pair of cables actually affect the characteristics of the output to that a drastic level? What's the theory in this case?

Thanks for the help guys, I shall await enlightenment. :)

Scenario1:

Lesson learnt is "trust your own ears". Buy what you like to listen, not what others tell you to.

Scenario2: