Hi. New to the forum. Undecided Arcam AVR 850 (older model)  or Marantz SR8015 ? Love to watch movies in Dolby Athmos and also  2 channel stereo. 

• 3 weeks later...
On 23/03/2021 at 4:35 PM, Jagosia said:

Hi. New to the forum. Undecided Arcam AVR 850 (older model)  or Marantz SR8015 ? Love to watch movies in Dolby Athmos and also  2 channel stereo. 

Hi Jan, I have no experience with the Arcam but am a Marantz fan. Previously owned the SR96 & SR8002...now have the SR6012 but am thinking of upgrading to the SR8015. I have the same queries as I love watching movies and also 2 channel stereo.

I downgraded from SR8002 (damaged and unrepairable HDMI board) a few years ago to a Marantz SR6012 (due to lack of funds) which is currently hooked up to an ANTHEM MCA325 - Power Amplifier 3 channel x 225w (8 ohm), but not totally happy with the music/stereo side of this set up. Below are some options I am considering:
  1. upgrade to the SR8015, would I still require a power amp and if yes which one? SR8015 = 140w vs current set up = 225w
  2. keep the SR6012 and add a Hegel H390 for the Stereo (bypass HT)
Current set up 5.1 but listen a lot to stereo (CD's & Tidal & Spotify via Bluesound Node 2i). My sub is a REL T7i

Any other recommendations to consider? Your feedback will be greatly appreciated. TIA
Guest dr_carl

What speakers are you driving with the anthem? Maybe they don't go together well. I have not heard one, but it looks like should be OK with the right speakers. Speaker positions could have a role to play also...often the best placement gets complaints from others who use the room...so you put them in convenient places where they don't sound so good...so many compromises.

I'm lucky my partner understands my needs and we have no conflict. 

While I  initially was a fan of 5.1 I've gone back to 2.0...the music is much better and my movies are not much worse, so I'm happy, but that's me, you might feel different.