Do I need an Oppo universal player?

Evening everyone,

I'm just getting into 2 channel audio with a small SACD and FLAC collection. I don't have any analog sources.

I have 3 universal players that play SACDs and FLACs, the most capable of the 3 being the Sony X800 which bitstreams DSD to my trusty but older Yammy V3800 which accepts the DSD signal. The other 2 players are Yamaha BDS677 and Pioneer BDP150. Of course, they can output PCM to the Yammy. The Yammy has from what I read pretty crappy DACs PCM1791A.

Question I have is if I'm purely playing digital sources and music, would I benefit from a better Oppo player? Is it only when I utilise the Oppo's DAC and get it to send the PCM signal that I'll benefit? Otherwise if I bitstream DSD....it would be no different compared to my existing players?

If I got an Oppo, I  think I'd only either the coaxial, optical or USB DAC digital output...whereas the X800 has coaxial digital outputs. Won't be using the RCA multichannel or 2 ch outs.

I am considering getting a 2 ch integrated amp too.

thx in advance for helping this newbie.

Edited by noisuf

Try listening to your Yamaha BDS677 for SACD playback.

According to the User Manual it appears to support DSD via it's stereo analog outs.

This method may potentially sound superior as it appears that your player internally converts DSD to PCM first if outputting via HDMI. 

You can confirm this by seeing what your AVR's display shows as the incoming signal.

Hook up Yamaha at analog level from player to AVR and at HDMI level.

Also hook up Sony at HDMI level.

You can then switch between the AVR'S HDMI and analog inputs and choose which way of playing SACD's sounds best to you.

1. Yamaha at analog level.......(my guess as best) (try to use half decent I/C's) 

2. Yamaha via HDMI 

3. Sony via HDMI

Looks like your Pioneer can't do SACD.