Newish to world of audio, am I ready for an upgrade?

Poncy

Hey everyone

Got my first passive speaker 2.1 setup 6 months ago and loved every moment since. Thinking about an upgrade to enjoy even more, and because life is short. On other hand, perhaps I should chill a bit since I'm fairly new to audio and til my ears are more educated. What do you guys think - should I upgrade now, or later?

I have Kef q150s + basic sub and av receiver used for 50% music, 50% tv. Budgeting a 4k upgrade (real budget 6k). I’ve auditioned a few 2-4k RRP bookshelves - I think the 2ks (LS50) might be better than mine, and the 4ks (dynaudio) sounded amazing though not in a way I can pinpoint, slightly more detailed, maybe more emotional and full (or the placebo is real). I admit I can’t really discern differences between better models in the way that other members do, at least with all the wait time in between with swapping speakers, going to another store, etc.

I’m inclined to spend the entire budget on speakers, especially after reading a few other threads, and upgrade rest later. But this makes me hesitate since I’ll keep it for longer so it seems more important that I’m able to tell the difference between different models, and know what sound signature I like. Finally, it’s not obvious to me when auditioning at a store, how much improvement is due to their superior setup with room treatment, top end amp, etc versus the speakers.

Thanks for reading. Cheers for any insights

Nathan

If you're enjoying your music then leave well enough alone, would be my advice. 

It won't be long before you'll be shelling out sums of money you wouldn't previously have even imagined to be plausible for electronic equipment... but you no longer have any control over coz you 'need' better sound.

Don't bring those days forward any earlier than need be ?

(written partly in jest)

• Like 3

If you’re enjoying what you’ve got, there’s no need to rush your upgrade.