Sonic Art Reference Blue Lightning Coax Cable

PhilGan

I'm not a professional reviewer, just a lover of great audio with some decent kit, and learning more all the time.  I was so impressed with this latest addition to my system, that I thought I'd share my impressions.  I have absolutely no conflicts of interest - just giving credit where it's due. 

You can’t improve on the source, so the aim of high end audio systems is to faithfully represent all that is presented.  I have a very revealing system (see below), and the Reference Blue Lightning Coax cable revealed just how much I had been missing out on.  Almost all my cables are from Sonic Art (https://www.sonicartaudio.com/estore/ )  – from the Evolution AC Mains Cables to the Reference Series XLR cables.  A friend and I had done a shoot-out with “big name” cables five years ago, and we were so impressed that we've both stuck with Sonic Art since.  One thing I had overlooked was the Coax cable from my Vincent CD-S6 CD player to my PS Audio Directstream DAC (Windom Firmware).  I was using a Mogami W2964 High definition 75Ω digital coaxial cable, which looked to be a well-specced “pro” cable, and I figured it only had to send the 1’s and 0’s to the Directstream DAC, which would then work its magic.  Still, I found that streaming TIDAL to the Directstream via its Bridge II sounded better, and I had drifted away from playing CDs on my old Vincent CD-S6 to just streaming. 

Fast forward to July 2020, and I was going through another impulsive audio-tweaking urge, so I placed an order for one of Mark’s Blue Lightning Coax cables.  He informed me that he had just started a Reference version – not yet on his web-site at the time.  I jumped at it, and the cable arrived on 23 July. 

Sonic Art cables need 150+ hours of burn-in, but this was my immediate response to Mark hours after plugging in my brand-new “stone cold” Reference Blue Lightning Coax cable: