I've opened the back of the exemplars!

illbarto

Hi Guys,

I opened up the back of the exemplars because I heard something rolling around when I moved the tweeter cabinet to clean behind the speakers. 

The attenuator (?) has come loose and the postive has fallen off, problem is there are three tabs on the attenuator, does it matter which one it is soldered back on to?

A little explanation of what's going on here would be nice too!

IMG20200823100946.jpg

G'day @illbarto

From the picture it looks like one terminal has solder and the other looks clean... I would assume it was connected to the middle terminal.

I'm new to speaker building, and yet to tackle any crossovers until I have some software and a microphone to measure things... unfortunately I can't help with what's going on there... but I'm sure you will have informative responses very soon.

Cheers.

Ant.

12 minutes ago, Jventer said:

the soldering in that photo does not look good. 

Looks like my soldering ( it ain't mine ), which needs a lot more practice.

I've started reading and watching videos posted by another member ( name escapes me right now - sorry ), and found them most helpful.

I recently sent some crossovers to @Tubularbells  for upgrades.  I had re-done the internal wiring and I was most embarrassed about my soldering.

Edited by BuzzzFuzzz

It does look like it should be soldered to the middle tab but in the other cabinet it is soldered to the tab furtherest away.

I guess during this melbourne lockdown I'll have to have a go at the soldering myself!

12 minutes ago, BuzzzFuzzz said:

I'm out the door for work in a minute, but will locate the soldering info for you this arvo.

Thanks buzzzfuzzz, now that I've seen the insides i might have to track down someone in Melbourne to tidy it all up for me so i can move on with my life.

• Like 1