Anyone have an opinion on Audiolab 6000A? Thinking of buying an amp from this century.

Hey I'm quite new to hifi but I know I need to upgrade my 1981 Aiwa rx30. It's humming. 

I've also got Jensen SPX floor speakers and a Pro-Ject turntable. It has an integrated phono pre amp. 

After a few hours of Googling I am leaning towards an Audiolab 6000A. It seems that you don't get the best of all worlds when you get an integrated amp but the space and power cord saving elements appeal to me. 

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers from the COVID Capital

The 6000a is an excellent amp for the money.  My dealer in the UK was selling more of these than all other sub £1000 options combined!  It is a very dynamic sounding machine and comes across as much more powerful than the specs would have you believe.

If looking for an alternative would also recommend the Creek Evolution 50a is worth a look.  Not as punchy and lively sounding as the audiolab but with superior midrange clarity which particularly shines on vocals.  If needing an onboard DAC then Creek do sell a DAC module called the Ruby DAC.  Hifi Disposals has the pair for under $2k at the moment which is a verifiable bargain!

https://hifidisposals.com/collections/amplifiers/products/creek-evo-50-a-black

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

3 hours ago, Immyimmy said:

After a few hours of Googling I am leaning towards an Audiolab 6000A. It seems that you don't get the best of all worlds when you get an integrated amp but the space and power cord saving elements appeal to me. 

in melbourne i see, try get a handle on how sound together as a combo. I beleive class A audio deals with audio lab might be able to let you home demo to appreciate and especially in these current conditions. quite possible it will be exactly what you want. but thats not something any of us can say :) 

• Thanks 1
1 hour ago, POV said: