DIY subwoofer build - Peerless, Dayton or Marty?

Ian23

Hi there,

Long time reader, first time poster..

Looking for people who have built either of the 12/15 inch versions of these subs, or the smaller Marty subwoofers (can't have larger ones because of the WAF factor) and your thoughts either good or bad?

I'm looking at building at least one of these (or two) for a home theatre system, but also listen to plenty of music. 

Also looking at the minidsp 2x4 HD for multiple sub control. I'm not an engineer so please be gentle, but i do know how to spell AV.

Reading lots of info and seems rew and calibration Mic are also on my list to buy.

But mainly after people experiences on which they built and if they are still happy with it.

Cheers.

Edited by Ian23

Martycube for the win, have built quite a few. 

As well as a ported 15" peerless and 4 sealed 15" which are my current home theatre subs. 

Bang for buck cannot beat the martycube (the mico is a little to high in the tuning for home theatre imo). 

Definitely get a minidsp and a umik-1. Lots of learning and fun times ahead. 

Go to the minidsp forums and there is a great write up about integrating and tuning. Also go to redspade audio and read his post on multiple sub integration as well. 

Happy building! Need anything post it up. 

Hello Wozza_lee,

Thanks for replying, but if i can ask why you recommend the Marty but not using them now?

We're you able to get better or lower response from 15" subs instead?

I have been given the "do whatever you want" from the minister, but don't quite think she knows what that actually means in regards to the size of these things..  I built a 15" housewrecker ages ago and that didn't quite go down so well..

The loudspeaker website has specs for sealed and ported for the Dayton, but the Marty does seem a little bit bigger..

Cheers..

By the time you add in drivers displacement and bracing etc in my experience the box for dayton ultimax ends up being very large.