NAS or no?

Hello, apols if this has already been covered multiple times but I am very new to this streaming business.

I have a Cambridge CXN which I use for Tidal and also have a portable hard drive with 200gb of lossless music.

I don't really understand this NAS stuff but wondered if I would benefit from one.

I listen to music in one room only Naim 82/250 to SHL5+ and wifey listens via Sonos in kitchen/living.

Sorry I sound like a technophobe, I probably am :)

26 minutes ago, cookster said:

Hello, apols if this has already been covered multiple times but I am very new to this streaming business.

I have a Cambridge CXN which I use for Tidal and also have a portable hard drive with 200gb of lossless music.

I don't really understand this NAS stuff but wondered if I would benefit from one.

I listen to music in one room only Naim 82/250 to SHL5+ and wifey listens via Sonos in kitchen/living.

Sorry I sound like a technophobe, I probably am :)

You'd benefit from the fact the hard drives back up one another so you wouldn't have to painstakingly re-rip your entire collection should one fail.

From a performance standpoint, I don't think there would be much (if any) sonic advantage.

I have a NAS on my home LAN, it has music, photos, videos etc on it. So, I use Audirvana on a Mac Mini upstairs to play hi-res digital music files on the high end 2ch system, while downstairs I can stream music, pics and videos on the large screen/surround sound system. I could equally use an iTunes server loaded on the NAS to listen to music as well. Or you could use any other usual servers. As it’s on the LAN, it can be accessed from anywhere in the house and by different devices. I can also access it remotely, but I don’t do that practically. So, it works for me.

• Like 2

As well as offering a method for sharing files on a local network, a NAS will typically allow you to configure the storage as a RAID array offering protection from a disk failure.

1 hour ago, Rickus said: