Canton Karat 300 advice

Mcka

Hi,

I'm very new to audio. My current experience is related to headphones. I recently got some HD6xx (HD650) and a JDS Labs Atom and I love it. My only problem is that now my other audio equipment sounds awful in comparison.

I have borrowed some speakers from my Dad who no longer uses them. As the title suggests they are Canton Karat 300's. The specs that I found online are as follows-

• Manufacturer: Canton
  • Model: Karat 300
  • Production Years: 1986 - 1987
  • Produced in: Deutschland
  • Color: Black, White, Walnut
  • Measurements: 310 x 500 x 290 mm (WxHxD)
  • Weight: 13,8 kg

Technical Data

• Form: 3-Way closed, Compact loudspreaker (aka Bookshelf speaker)
  • Chassis:
    • Woofer: 260 mm Cone
    • Midrange: 38 mm Dome
    • Tweeter: 20 mm Dome
  • Loading: 90/130 W (RMS/Peak)
  • Sensitivity: 91,2 dB
  • Frequency Response: 25 - 30.000 Hz
  • Crossover points: 850 / 4.200 Hz
  • Impedence: 8 Ohm

I have been trying to figure out what kind of amp I should use to power them. They won't be in a massive room but I don't want to underpower them and cause damage (I've read that under powering can cause damage, please correct me if I'm mistaken).

Can anyone suggest an amp that would do these speakers justice without driving price up very high. I'd prefer to be spending $400 or less if possible (I've got a feeling that this might not be possible). I can't figure out what kind of power I need and whether I should be looking at using my atom as a preamp. Essentially I'm confused and the more reading I do the more confused I'm becoming about what is needed. Haha! 

Any advice would be most appreciated.

Thanks for your time!

IMG_20190811_173310.jpg

Guest Music monster