The Elekit TU 8500 Valve Preamp - A Knockout In Value and Sound Quality!

*** AN UPDATE to the performance of the phono stage is written by me several postings below here: ie, further on in this particular post, not in a separate one. 

Hi all, I just wanted to share my latest project, something I've been saving for and wanting to build for some 18 months. It's an Elekit TU 8500 valve preamp, direct from Japan, complete with all assembly instructions in Japanese! Fortunately, the instruction sheets are so beautifully put together from beginning to end, as well as the fact that I've been building kits on and off for decades, that I had no issues with the build as such. It did mean I had to double check some items for orientation, but that was no big challenge at all, really just precautionary. It's certainly not a kit I would recommend to beginners, but if you have good soldering skills and can at least follow picture directions, then you should have little problem with this one. 

The sheer quality of the boards and casework is truly admirable, as everything aligned to perfection and once I fired it up and checked the 140V and 12V+- test points all was well. This preamp is SILENT(!), thanks to a classy R-Core transformer often found in much more high end gear and a comprehensive DC power supply. Even the phono stage needs full volume through headphones to hear even the slightest of noise at a very very low level, the line stage is for all intents and purposes completely silent.

** This TU 8500 preamp is far quieter than a $3700NZ TRI KT88SE Integrated amplifier that I owned and loved for five years!