Thoughts on Richter speakers/Rega Brio and $2000 system

Hello, 

I am kind of new to the world of Hi-Fi audio and am just after some advice. 

I am looking at spending up to $2000 on a system. I am interested at present in the Rega Brio and the Richter Merlin or Mentor V's. 

I an wondering if anyone has any experience with these, especially the Richter's? It is harder to find information on these though they got fantastic sound+image/AV Hub reviews. 

I'm also wondering if this combination would sound significantly better than a $1000 system with a different combination of amp and speaker (say Monitor Audio Bronze 2s and a D 3020 for example). 

Thanks very much for your help. 

Edited by Vogon Poet

I have the Merlin Richter V's. Not the most neutral of speakers and for my taste they went a little overboard striving for a little more bass than necessary.  Producing not so much a bass hump but some overhang, lugubrious shall we say. That said Brad Serhan and the Richter team have done a remarkable job. The treble and mid-range integration is wonderful without that irritating sparkle and "airiness" that is de rigueur these days and has tended to get on my nerves as time goes by. All of that good stuff in the middle is exceptionally well done.  Nice cabinets, nice presentation I have the jarrah version.

I was so impressed with Serhan's capabilities that I hunted down a pair of the Axis Voicebox speakers he co-designed with John Reilly that I was able to get hold of at a Christian price being ex demo, and I finally found what I have been looking for, for quite some time. 

For the price at which you can get the RIchter's of late, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending them they are an absolute bargain even at the RRP of $899, they are stack up pretty well, and for the extra dollars on a negotiated price over and above the likes of QAcoustics or Wharfedale Diamonds I think they are a special.