Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Well noticed this email from Tivo today, very sad to read... as we have very much enjoyed our TiVos since day one. Anyways followed the link and registered to swap out couple of them. and also decided to check with Optus and changing to a $5 cheaper entertainment plan wiht them they will send us a Fetch Mighty for free !

 

http://www.optus.com.au/shop/broadband/home-broadband/plans?bt=UDSL&tl=LAU

 

(dont know how that works) hehe. always will await that,

 

spacer.gif spacer.gif spacer.gif

Important service announcement: TiVo Service ending on 31 October 2017

After almost a decade of service, we are sad to report that we have reached the end of our TiVo license and the TiVo Service is coming to an end in Australia on 31 October 2017.

The TiVo Service is what delivers electronic programming guide data to your TiVo device each day, so without it, there will be no electronic programming guide and TiVo recording features such as Season Pass and WishList will stop working. For more information on what will and will not work after 31 October see “What does this mean for you and your TiVo after 31 October?”. Your TiVo device will have extremely limited functionality and we discourage customers from using it after 31 October.

 

TiVo Swap Out Offer

 

To thank you for your support we want to help you upgrade to the latest in DVR technology and make sure your entertainment doesn’t end here. We are giving you the opportunity to swap your active* TiVo device for a Fetch Mighty device at $100 off the Recommended Retail Price, purchased through Harvey Norman online. That’s $299 based on today’s RRP. (RRP is $399 as at 1/3/17, subject to change.)

*The device must have connected to TiVo Service in 6 months prior to 1 March 2017 to be eligible. Expires 31 October 2017. See here for more information, terms and conditions and to register for your Swap Out.

Read more on the Fetch Mighty vs TiVo comparison.

 

$100 off RRP for Fetch Mighty:

 

**To be eligible for the TiVo Swap Out Offer, the TiVo device must have connected to the TiVo Service in 6 months prior to 1 March 2017. Please think of the environment and dispose of this device at your local e-cycling facility.

For further information on the end of the TiVo Service and the TiVo Swap Out Offer, please visit www.mytivo.com.au

We wish you all the best and thank you for your support over the years.

spacer.gif

 

But anyways before I could say boo. harvey norman drop a line back saying my two new Fetch Mighty units are awaiting pickup at their store local to me ! 

 

so took two of our Tivo's in and there you go it was ....

 

goodbye Tivo and hello fetch ! :D

 

32382784843_c1efdec920_b.jpg

 

the harvey norman guy was very nice to give me a demo through their unit and talk me through setup and freebies and such .... looking forward to having a play...but will be no doubt we will miss our TiVos....

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 118
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Well noticed this email from Tivo today, very sad to read... as we have very much enjoyed our TiVos since day one. Anyways followed the link and registered to swap out couple of them. and also decided

Just a cheap one but it does the job for what I want.   http://www.google.com.au/shopping/product/6459671371487054429

settings-user-recording  backtracking at the bottom of the page, when FF has to be at 32x for this to work.  

This is why I never bothered with PVR's with proprietary programme guides. I bought a Magic TV PVR years ago and it runs off the standard over air guide. Anyway AL, you have always been a big fan of the TiVo so the Fetch unit better be good .

Sent from my F1f using Tapatalk

Link to post
Share on other sites

not a great start ! Grrrrr ! 

 

"This content can not be displayed because your TV does not support HDCP 2.2"

 

groan !!!!

Link to post
Share on other sites

9 minutes ago, Saxon Hall said:

Still got your TiVo's or did you hand them in?

Sent from my F1f using Tapatalk
 

 

i was smart (or was i ???) and only handed in our 2nd one and my dads. 

 

so still have the tivo on the main system, wont be terribly missed for the interim in the bedroom can work aound ! my dad will miss his though ! Grrrr ! 

 

I hope they can sort this soon ! 

 

the oppo had this same error passing through when they first had it but they did a firmware update to sort. you'd think fetch would do the same ?

Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, :) al said:

not a great start ! Grrrrr ! 

 

"This content can not be displayed because your TV does not support HDCP 2.2"

 

groan !!!!

 

Try one of these

Edited by thathifiguy
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, thathifiguy said:

 

Try one of these

 

yeah I went there in the early days of the jvc x7000,  also had the hdfury.

 

but gee we shouldnt have to go there ! why the added expense plus additional hdmi cable and then running another bit of power. etc 

 

when its just a matter of a firmware update, like oppo did to sort it out :)

 

its just matter of getting hand shakes right and fetch recognising the device is not 4k without this error popping up. 

 

as a note the signal the fetch passes through is not even 4k, its sitting on 720p50 which is even more bizare why it is giving this error. cant change the output either ...tried. can change to 1080p50 and it will change back to 720p50 and thats even when trying with hooked upto the jvc that can take a 4k signal. pity will mean cant watch 1080 TV ??? all very strange ! 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Mmmm  not sure whats going on Al, we have 2 Fetch Mighty and one mini and I think there very good, never had any HDMI handshake issues  - I like the interface and the fact that you get Live TV, recordings, Catch Up TV, Netflix, Stan and even movie rentals all on one box ( we use the ATV way less now ) Picture quality seems good and streaming starts fast.

 

From memory there is away to force the output resolution, will check when I get home.

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Chill3 said:

Mmmm  not sure whats going on Al, we have 2 Fetch Mighty and one mini and I think there very good, never had any HDMI handshake issues  - I like the interface and the fact that you get Live TV, recordings, Catch Up TV, Netflix, Stan and even movie rentals all on one box ( we use the ATV way less now ) Picture quality seems good and streaming starts fast.

 

spoke to marantz earlier...

it would be seem that they found out about this issue back in october last year, have about 15 instances of hdcp error.

and with months of trying to contact fetch it would appear they finally got confirmation that the hdcp hand shake hasnt been implemented properly on fetches part when dealign with a repeater...whcih an intermediate receiver is.

 

and why there are unresolved issues after issue fo this listed on the optus site as well,

 

https://yescrowd.optus.com.au/t5/TV-Entertainment/I-m-getting-an-error-that-says-HDCP-Error-when-I-connect-an-HDMI/td-p/163769/page/4

 

and not just with the marantz brand.

 

so when are fetch going to issue a firmware update to resolve this ? its now 4 months on from release of this product !

 

another instance of a half baked product ! unleaded on the unsuspecting !!!

 

5 minutes ago, Chill3 said:

From memory there is away to force the output resolution, will check when I get home.

 

I found the video output setting, but it wont let me change it. goes to black screen if i choose 1080i or 1080p and then will come back to 720p50 and this even if feeding the jvc x7000 which will take a 4k signal :)

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, got the same email, but.....................because I had not connected to the TIVO service (???) in the last 6 months I'm not entitled to it.

 

Was going to put an axe through mine and pop out and pick up a Fetch TV mighty.

 

2 hours ago, :) al said:

not a great start ! Grrrrr ! 

 

"This content can not be displayed because your TV does not support HDCP 2.2"

 

groan !!!!

 

HDCP 2.2 ????, now i'm wondering if I should wait until they sort it out. Or if I can figure out if my TV is suitable.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Loki if you are going direct to the tv you will be fine

 

issue  is it can't handle repeating if going via an avr :)

 

the marantz tech who have dealt with fir years ! Didn't feel the blue stream would help. Even though they sell it. Suggested maybe try one ... perhaps it could if splitting and tricking the fetch it is hooked up to a non 4K tv after the marantz !

 

cant believe am having this with a PVR though hehe

 

If swapping I would do soon while HN still have stock. If going direct to tv likely no issue just if going via an avr.

Link to post
Share on other sites

"I reported the problem with my Yamaha receiver back in August. They've known for a long time and just go silent on you. I "solved" the problem temporarily with a simple HDMI splitter."

 

Someone responded re the same hdcp issue and their Yamaha. Have askedehst they used to get around it :) 

Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, :) al said:

Loki if you are going direct to the tv you will be fine

 

issue  is it can't handle repeating if going via an avr :)

 

the marantz tech who have dealt with fir years ! Didn't feel the blue stream would help. Even though they sell it. Suggested maybe try one ... perhaps it could if splitting and tricking the fetch it is hooked up to a non 4K tv after the marantz !

 

cant believe am having this with a PVR though hehe

 

If swapping I would do soon while HN still have stock. If going direct to tv likely no issue just if going via an avr.

 Cheers

 

Was thinking going through my receiver, but just through the TV would suit me fine.

 

Use my WDTV live through my receiver for Netflix and streaming movies from server.

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Does the issues go away when you connect the Fetch directly to your display?

EDIT:  Nevermind, I'm catching up now.

Edited by davewantsmoore
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

have been pointed to one device,

 

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/AU-HDMI-1-4-1-in-2-out-1080p-HDCP-Stripper-Splitter-Power-1x2-Signal-Amplifier-/171901698476?hash=item280623c1ac:g:mfIAAOSwt7pXNDkF

 

in essence a splitter stripper combined unit. down fall I would be limited to 1080p to both av processor and hence both displays. which would be a pity. as jvc can accept 4k and who knows one day we might end up riding the back of a nbn that can support 4k net flix and what not which the fetch mighty is supposedly capable off ! 

 

but in interim this splitter stripper could be a good stop gap. person using pretty much tried everything else till was pointed to them to use with the fetch mighty :) and fixed the handshake issue instantly.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
5 hours ago, :) al said:

not a great start ! Grrrrr ! 

 

"This content can not be displayed because your TV does not support HDCP 2.2"

 

groan !!!!

 

That's weird because I got a Fetch last week for the bedroom and I haven't had this issue.

Is this just with Netflix or FTA as well?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Al

 try this, go through settings and change display resolution make sure you confirm

restart

 

works for me 

 

pioneer AVR and Sharp tv, Yamaha AVR and Sony TV 

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Kazz said:

 

That's weird because I got a Fetch last week for the bedroom and I haven't had this issue.

Is this just with Netflix or FTA as well?

 

first thing i saw even switching the unit on ! 

 

had to fire up and feed the projector before I could see anything come through ! and go through the setup process. what is your bedroom system ? involve an avr thats hdcp 2,2 capable ? and a tv that isnt ? thats my problem am going through a compliant device in the marantz and the fetch from all accounts cant hand shake with those where working as a repeater.... which is the case when pass through and avr or processor and into my pio kuro as am doing.

 

1 hour ago, Chill3 said:

Al

 try this, go through settings and change display resolution make sure you confirm

restart

 

works for me 

 

pioneer AVR and Sharp tv, Yamaha AVR and Sony TV 

 

are your avrs hdcp 2.2 ? feeding 4k or 1080p tellys ?

 

I popped into office works and grabbed one of these basic 2-1 comsol hdmi splitters, managed to get a picture up on the TV ! 

 

but picture still stuck on 720p, i go through to change menu>Manage>settings>audio& visual>video>display resoltuion

 

can change it off 720p hit confirm it will go black and stay that way. have to switch the box off and then switch back on and it will still be on 720p

 

basically cant get it off 720p which is plain bizarre !

 

wonder what is causing this ? 

Link to post
Share on other sites

oh goodness ! am i seeing some gremlins or is this thing flaky ! perhaps has had itself caught in some handshake issue or something.

 

I can now select and confirm resolutions and no issue. ! have put it on 1080p50 

 

what are you guys running. I could just leave it on 1080i50 I suppose as thats best it gets TV wise.

 

anyways TV like SBS HD and ghost protocol going on ch9HD is now looking LOT better than the 720p I was stuck on :D

 

not throwing a celebration yet ! I'll have to see how stable this thing is in use. i.e. switching on/off etc switching between inputs and such and make sure it doesnt relapse into its black screens and what not was seeing when tried to select anything over 720p prior...

Link to post
Share on other sites

well so far so good ! I hope stays this way, for some time this evening I was starting to think what the hell have I got myself into ! 

 

just watching ghost protocol on fta and with the footy show starting all looks pretty good I have to say. infact cleaner sharper than can remember from the Tivo 

 

infact the footy show which is studio shot and with onfield is looking VERY nice ! super clean sharp and detailed. great stuff ! and this is watching on the projector which makes pretty obvious PQ wise if lacking.

Link to post
Share on other sites

If your receiver has optical input, could you run HDMI to the TV and optical to the receiver for the sound?

And if so would/could it differ in SQ rather than using HDMI.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I was part of the TiVo launch in Australia and we all knew as soon as Channel 7 jump all over it and Foxtel jumped out it was doomed, surprised it lasted so long.

Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, loki65 said:

If your receiver has optical input, could you run HDMI to the TV and optical to the receiver for the sound?

And if so would/could it differ in SQ rather than using HDMI.

 

 

you could. just miss out on OSD from the receiver. and miss out IF there was any audio beyond DD and basic sound. keeping in mind some netflix uses 7.1 DTS-HD if i remember. if your tv also has audio out ? can run optical off that to avr though in some cases they only do a 2.0 out so will miss out on surround.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Al - hope you work out the buggs for your system - I think there a great unit and I find PQ on Netflix and FTA very good.

 

Why did you get two mighty ? you can now slave mini's off a central mighty and use them watch recordings of the mighty on other rooms

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, loki65 said:

Yeah, got the same email, but.....................because I had not connected to the TIVO service (???) in the last 6 months I'm not entitled to it.

 

Was going to put an axe through mine and pop out and pick up a Fetch TV mighty.

 

 

HDCP 2.2 ????, now i'm wondering if I should wait until they sort it out. Or if I can figure out if my TV is suitable.

 

We also got the message saying we hadn't connected to the service in the last 6 months.  However, it appears they dunno s#!t from chocolate, as ours is still in use and still connected, so I just applied for the discount voucher regardless and got it.

Still to decide whether to use it or not, so watching this thread with interest.

Wife loves the TiVo.  We had a couple of PVRs before TiVo but she still recorded stuff on the VCR because the UI's were too complicated.  She took to TiVo like a duck to water.  What are folks opinions on the Fetch Mighty in this respect?

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
22 minutes ago, Chill3 said:

Al - hope you work out the buggs for your system - I think there a great unit and I find PQ on Netflix and FTA very good.

 

Why did you get two mighty ? you can now slave mini's off a central mighty and use them watch recordings of the mighty on other rooms

 

 

I think am there Chill. With finally working itself through the black fog :D so now letting me select resolution I'm now on 1080p no longer stuck on 720p

 

And the office works 1-2 comsol splitter that "accidentally" seems to strip hdcp :D seems to be working a treat so I don't get the hdcp error :)

 

Yes PQ is good so far I will say step ahead of tivo which can expect i guess it's such an old design now.

 

still getting used to the fetch interface ... that will be time ...

 

We got two mighty's as ones for my dad to replace his TiVo :) the mini not really good enough for his needs. And he is in different house so can't slave 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, surprisetech said:

 

We also got the message saying we hadn't connected to the service in the last 6 months.  However, it appears they dunno s#!t from chocolate, as ours is still in use and still connected, so I just applied for the discount voucher regardless and got it.

Still to decide whether to use it or not, so watching this thread with interest.

Wife loves the TiVo.  We had a couple of PVRs before TiVo but she still recorded stuff on the VCR because the UI's were too complicated.  She took to TiVo like a duck to water.  What are folks opinions on the Fetch Mighty in this respect?

 

I am so far finding the fetch mighty remote sucks !

 

and yes my wife too Is probably most disappointed re TiVo going. Agree she too took to duck to water.

 

in use ability so far the TiVo still is miles ahead I feel but I am still getting used to the fetch. The fetch has to be more complicated because it is also a full fledged media streamer etc !

 

still come October there will be no other choice so might as well jump I say no point prolonging. From reports Stocks from what can see are also running out.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, powerav said:

I was part of the TiVo launch in Australia and we all knew as soon as Channel 7 jump all over it and Foxtel jumped out it was doomed, surprised it lasted so long.

 

Yes, damn shame how it was handled.  Great product, but poor marketing model and rather ordinary support.

 

We got ours not long after the Australian launch.  Had the HDD replaced by the guru here in Melbourne a couple of years ago, but other than that it hasn't missed a beat.  Have noticed that the TiVo service connection has been less reliable in the last 6 months or so.  EPG updates fail from time to time, so I wasn't that surprised when I got the announcement.

 

Even before the launch in Australia, I knew someone who had one and raved about it.  He was one of a group who bought them from the US and set up their own EPG service.  Will be interesting to see if this approach re-surfaces amongst the die-hard fans.

Edited by surprisetech
Link to post
Share on other sites

I loved the suggestions side from tivo.... where it would record stuff based on the thumbs up/down not found anything similar on the fetch

 

also not sure how the space management works on the fetch... does it delete by itself from the oldest ? once filled up? havent seen any options for this anywhere

 

will have to setup "my channels" as seeing all the channels there wiht none of which we are subscribed to seems silly ! 

 

ps I still wish the fetch had a "auto" res output and where it could adjust depending on telly hooked upto whether 1080p or 4k ! anyways ... can leave it at 1080p for now :) not like 4k really an option just yet without any nbn

 

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
53 minutes ago, surprisetech said:

 

............it appears they dunno s#!t from chocolate, as ours is still in use and still connected, so I just applied for the discount voucher regardless and got it...........

 

 

I did the same, and got the code.

 

Just trying to decide if I would get more joy out of taking to the TIVO with a sledge hammer or the $100 off??

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators
13 hours ago, :) al said:

had to fire up and feed the projector before I could see anything come through ! and go through the setup process. what is your bedroom system ? involve an avr thats hdcp 2,2 capable ? and a tv that isnt ? thats my problem am going through a compliant device in the marantz and the fetch from all accounts cant hand shake with those where working as a repeater.... which is the case when pass through and avr or processor and into my pio kuro as am doing.

 

 

 

 

@:) al being fed to a non hdcp 2.2 Denon X2100 and non hdcp 2.2 plasma, definitely no issues with setting the fetch to 1080p and no hdcp error messages.

Maybe try a factory reset of the fetch?

Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Kazz said:

 

@:) al being fed to a non hdcp 2.2 Denon X2100 and non hdcp 2.2 plasma, definitely no issues with setting the fetch to 1080p and no hdcp error messages.

Maybe try a factory reset of the fetch?

 

ah thats the difference kazz, your running a non hdcp2.2 denon vs I'm running a fully compliant hdcp2.2 marantz. everyone who has latest gen avr (doesnt seem to matter the brand from onkyo to yamaha to denon or marantz) cant get the fetch to talk it would seem, 

 

definite issue with the fetch in the implementation as reported by others now where cant handle a repeater for the right hdcp handshake.  but fortunately introducing the splitter(one that strips hdcp) in the mix as I found as well seems to be the solution :) 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Ah ok I've got you now,  that's a big pain.  Glad you found a relatively cheap solution although it shouldn't be needed.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Kazz said:

Ah ok I've got you now,  that's a big pain.  Glad you found a relatively cheap solution although it shouldn't be needed.

 

yeah I wish it wasnt needed ! has created a little cable jungle back there ! will have to sort out. we also know more devices introduced in the mix the more chance of hdmi gremlins ! so hope they can fix this eventually for long run !  

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

ok have completely switched out the tivo with the fetch... or fletch as my daughter has started calling it :D

question...is there a better remote for the fetch ? the remote coming with he mighty is a little too spartan....minimalistic ...eg with the number pad that doesnt come up ...unless pressing another button. not that pleased its not really a back lit remote.

ok am going to have the harmony setup ...and hopefully no bother with that. but it would be good if the fetch remote was a little more comprehensive....

i see there are older gen remotes that look more like it ... are these compatible with the fetch mighty ? would they not be better move with a fuller remote ?

 

old gen

 

FetchTVremote.jpg

 

and this is the current gen that comes with the mighty

 

Fetch-TV-Mini-box-and-remote-cropped.png

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

So....I checked all near by Harvey Norman's yesterday, all out of stock and not sure when new stock would be in. Went to JB HIFI and picked one up.

Hooked up and running. Works fine, just need to get use to the OSD and how to make it work best for me then programme it into my remote.

 

Would be better if it had 2 HDMI outs, already had in place a HDMI to my receiver. If I want to watch through the TV or receiver I just change the HDMI cable over.

Thinking of trying a HDMI splitter to see if I can have both hooked up, would this work??

Link to post
Share on other sites
47 minutes ago, loki65 said:

So....I checked all near by Harvey Norman's yesterday, all out of stock and not sure when new stock would be in. Went to JB HIFI and picked one up.

Hooked up and running. Works fine, just need to get use to the OSD and how to make it work best for me then programme it into my remote.

 

Would be better if it had 2 HDMI outs, already had in place a HDMI to my receiver. If I want to watch through the TV or receiver I just change the HDMI cable over.

Thinking of trying a HDMI splitter to see if I can have both hooked up, would this work??

 

Will work :) comsol from office works or 1-2 hdmi splitter from jay car :)

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, loki65 said:

Would be better if it had 2 HDMI outs, already had in place a HDMI to my receiver. If I want to watch through the TV or receiver

Does your AVR have HDMI pass through when AVR is off, most modern ones do.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.



×
×
  • Create New...