Raspberry Pi with Hifiberry DAC+ Pro - Using I2S to feed DAC - How to feed with external PSU rails

Hello to all,

I'm a newbie in this forum, subscribed last week.

Recently I bought a Raspberry Pi 2B and a HifiBerry DAC+ Pro. The DAC+ Pro has the ability to output I2S signals, including Masterclock.

The DAC+ Pro also has two seperate audio clocks on board which are triggered by software (latest distro's do support this feature).

There's also the possibility to remove a 0 ohm resister and power the analog side of the dacboard externally with 5V.

If feeding with external psu, and NOT removing the 0 Ohm resistor, the external psu also powers the RPI.

Since I wanted to provide analog AND digital section of DAC+ Pro with clean, ultra low noise power, I decided to cut off the 3.3V header pins

from the RPI 2B since DAC+ Pro hasn't the option to provide 3.3V externally.

But, sadly DAC+ Pro didn't work anymore from that point. I had to restore 3.3V from RPI to DAC+ Pro before it would work again.

Does anybody have any clue why I cant power DAC+ Pro with external 3.3V when cutting off all 3.3V lines from RPI 2B ?

In the meantime I bought a RPI 3 but didn't cut any headers before I am very sure how to manage 3.3V and 5V externally on DAC+ Pro.

Any help is much appreciated!

Alex Bartels

The Netherlands

Which means?

Maybe it's not the right forum, if this kind of answers are common.............................

Knowing there would be more helpful types like @@rastus along I was merely making a quip of frustration having seen some people's Pi experience as all crust and no pie.

just ignore me. I have started 3 runaway digital music threads. (and my Gibberfish dosen't do 'tech' too well).

Edited by E.Man

@E.Man

It's ok, I overreacted I suppose  :emot-bang:

@@rastus

Thanks for the forum links, I did read them already but no real solution, but it seems others have tried it successfully!

@@bob_m_54