Technics SL1200 mkii

Mintt

Technics SL1200 mkii

"If I have been able to see further, it was only because I stood on the shoulders of giants." from Newton.

I am relatively new to audio stuff, and would like to gain some precious knowledge and experience from our kind audiophile gentlemen from SNL.

Here are my questions about the turntable:

1. I have a Yamaha AS2000, and there is a build in phono mm/ms stage, would that be sufficient to drive this baby?

2. If Ans for Q1 is negative, what phono pre-amp would you recommend? Budget within $2k

3. What cartridge mm/mc would you recommend? Budget within $1k

4. I heard lot of people talking about this turntable, mainly DJs, how would this compare to modern turntable, etc, Rega RP6 and above or Pro-ject 6 and above? Mainly looking at possible upgrading down the track.

Thanks in advance.

post-154516-0-10076400-1459308259_thumb.

post-154516-0-78472300-1459308287_thumb.

post-154516-0-41228100-1459308323_thumb.

post-154516-0-41577200-1459308357_thumb.

The phono stage on the Yamaha will be fine.

The great thing about the SL1200 you can do all sorts of reversible mods

Biggest upgrade I made on my SL1200 was replacing the arm with a modded Rega RB250. The original arm isn't great and can be easily removed, plenty of choices for replacement (Rega, Jelco, SME) as there are a number of after market arm boards available which are made for specific arms that slot right in.

Next biggest was replacing the feet with squash balls, just unscrew the feet, place the balls under the table where the feet would have been. No need to worry about the balls rolling around as the weight of the table flattens them quite a bit

Not sure about how it would stand up against an RP6, but for the money they are hard to beat

• Like 1

Hi 

There is a dedicated tread on this forum that is now at page three ,for the SL 1200 http://www.stereo.net.au/forums/index.php/topic/96238-technics-sl-1200-thread/