Getting into vinyl

Kelvin Goh

Hi guys,

Thinking of getting a turntable as a birthday present for myself. This would be my first time purchasing a turntable and getting into vinyl. Since I'm new to this, don't want to spend too much, my budget would be around ($200-$250). Did some searching on Gumtree and found the following ads around me. For a beginner and to keep me interested with vinyl, what would you suggest be a good buy and what should I be looking for? I already have a Marantz SR6006 which has a Phono input, and a pair of Richter Wizards MK4 speakers. Apologies if the list below is too long, just want to cover all the potentials if possible. Thank you in advance for all the great advice.

Vintage Marantz Turntable Belt Drive Full auto $100
Pioneer Vintage stereo Turntable $120
Vintage Marantz Turntable $250
Vintage Akai Turntable $225
Sansui FR-1080 stereo auto return turntable $140
SL 3200 Technics Direct Drive Turntable Automatic (price not known yet)
THORENS TD-190 IN BOX WITH COVER AND INSTRUCTIONS - JUST SERVICED $325.00
TECHNICS SL-1300 FULLY AUTOMATIC TURNTABLE $250.00
Edited by ExCaLiBur9

I would suggest you don't get into LPs, Kelvin, until you can afford to spend a lot more money.

Don't forget that a device to play records consists of:

• the turntable itself
  • an arm
  • and a cartridge

You've recognised that you have a phono stage - so that is one purchase not required straight off - but what condition are the cartridges in, for those ads you saw?  You might play $120 and find that the cart (stylus in particular) is shot ... and that's how you ruin LPs by playing them with a worn stylus! :(